there isn’t much that helps me reconnect with my pre-mother identity better than a long, luxurious meal where I can taste my food, linger over the flavors, and even discuss the food as I taste it. thank goodness for good girlfriends and husbands who don’t take it too hard when they volunteer to parent solo on saturday night!

image

for once, I didn’t worry about whether the place was baby-friendly, or too what degree curious and vocal little one would disturb out fellow diners. we even started at the bar of the stumbling goat bistro for cocktails and appetizers. we had raspberry pisco sours: pisco, raspberry shrub, lemon and organic egg white. then we moved on to the dining room and got started!

image

we shared the Jámon Serrano:
Peaches, red watercress, Zamarano cheese

image

and the Tails & Trotters Braised Pork Belly: Washington cherries, beluga black lentils. both were unbelievably delicious. the pork and fruit pairings were delicate and perfect, each dish was beautiful and divinely balanced.

we also shared the evening special of Neah Bay halibut with chantrelle and corn risotto…but were so into eating out that no photo was taken!

we ended on the best possible note: interesting dessert! I didn’t get a photo but my girlfriend did:

image

there were many daily icecream choices, including salted caramel and other sweet confections. however, they offered us the choice of savory flavors as well and we could not resist trying the bone marrow, cognac and chantrelle icecream! though it was a tough choice since the other flavor was golden beet, blue cheese and hazelnut. for sorbets we had the choice of either red or black currant and gooseberry…though we choose red currant, I wish we could have tried them all!! the scoops were so generous that we could only handle one each.

it was one of the most rejuvenating nights I have had in a while, and the talents of the staff, chefs and ambiance at the stumbling goat are not wasted on me.

