10152010_10103193313471108_6736434695579423984_n

my mother is having a garage sale and asked me to go through all the boxes of things i’ve saved from girlhood. i had such a lovely time taking a look at all of my things–touching them was like connecting with my past and reaching out to the little girl i used to be–which maybe seemed all the more real since i have a child of my own. i had a good time laughing with my mom, trying to remember why i had saved certain objects–and with certain objects (an address book with geese on the front, for example) i can absolutely remember when and where i got it…i used to carry it around in my purse and hand it around to people i met, asking them to write down their address for me…so it was full of different inks and handwriting, and residences of people i haven’t seen for decades.

BUS$_35

among the treasures, i found my 4th grade school bag–a vintage esprit canvas tote–which i am planning to use as my summer handbag–i ran it through the wash and it is hang drying in my kitchen as i type this!

i also found a painstakingly kept collection of tiny hello kitty notebooks that were barely used or unused–along with a bunch of other sanrio accoutrements , a pencil box with orca whales on the front, a porcelain strawberry shortcake trinket box, an old merry-go-round music box that is quite broken, a box of sweet pickles educational cards, a chipped tea set, a bear with a hot pink bikini-wedding dress-and tea dress, tiny little purses i remember buying and using in early early childhood…and many other things.

a6b829b8592f06b567fbe89ebe941da3 hello-kitty-little-twin-stars-vintage-pencil-case-1987-flickr-photo-sharing_1340665532134 il_570xN.416765071_bdi8

of these, i saved a recorder, flute, and the tote bag. and many of the things i put out for the garage sale–but there were some things that i couldn’t bear to sell for a few cents, and i didn’t feel compelled to keep–but i wouldn’t throw away. so i boxed up a few of the nicer things and gifted them to a friend’s daughter…this friend is someone who really values vintage and i knew she would appreciate it, and so i was tickled that the pencil case i gifted to her young daughter–one of my little son’s friends–is apparently selling on ebay for over $100. that being said, the one being sold is new. but seeing all these treasures from my childhood labeled as vintage really made me giggle.

enhanced-buzz-26784-1357933401-16

it was so fun to see them again, and to let them go. to share them with someone who will get real joy out of them.

